Archive for April 23rd, 2013

Support The Student Loan Fairness Act (H.R. 1330)!

Support The Student Loan Fairness Act (H.R. 1330)!

Click on the link above…..

– Right now the debt of student loans have tipped over $1 Trillion. Many have to wait 20 years to have there debt erased. Lets take a stand right now to have things change.

The Student Loan Fairness Act would create a new “10-10” standard for student loan repayment, in which an individual would be required to make ten years of payments at 10% of their discretionary income, after which, their remaining student loan debt would be forgiven. Further, this legislation would:

• ensure low interest rates;

• allow those eligible to convert their private loan debt into federal direct loans;

• reward graduates for entering public service professions;

• provide a lifeline for student borrowers who have fallen on difficult times;

• encourage delinquent and defaulted borrowers to re-enter repayment;

• replace the current, 10 year “Standard Repayment Plan” for the full amount of the loan balance with the “10-10” plan as the default repayment option for borrowers entering repayment.

Student loan debt causes an undeniable and significant drag on the economy. The Student Loan Fairness Act directly addresses this enormous boot on the neck of the middle class and represents a glimmer of hope for millions of Americans who, with each passing day, find that the American Dream is more and more out of reach.

Therefore, we, the undersigned, respectfully request that Congress vote Yes on H.R. 1330, the Student Loan Fairness Act and, thereafter, that President Obama sign this bill into law.

To learn more about H.R. 1330, The Student Loan Fairness Act, please click here: http://studentdebtcrisis.org/hr1330/facts_faqs/

, , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

Student Loan Debt: Proactive Approach Part 1

images

Student loan debt can be frightening. I know first-hand because I was frightened. Now after three years of graduating the process begins. Yes, I am planning and developing ways to come out of the massive student loan debt that I acquired. I wish I could have started on this years ago but I was so frightened that I felt trap because of my finances and the employment situation I was in. I had just started a new job after graduation and was only making enough to pay the necessary bills. I had no clue on how I was going to include a monthly payment for my student loans.  So probably like many of you I deferred my loans until I could figure out some type of plan. While they were deferred my mind drifted away to other issues and situations and I never thought about my student loans until my deferment period was ending.

So it was that time again, the deferment period was ending and I was discussing my dilemma to a friend.  That day is when my research started and I began to pull my head out of the sand. I was referred to SmarterBucks/SmarterBank and since then I have been on a proactive move to eliminate my student loans. For those who have not heard SmarterBucks/SmarterBanks have many options to help you make extra payments towards your student loans. You can have family contributions, earn rewards points for shopping online, and/or receive credits points from purchases made with SmarterBank debit card. Yes, it works, this is a legitimate company, and not only I but you and anyone you know can benefit as well.

My proactive approach has driven me to educate myself more on student loans and payment options. I read where student loan debt has risen above $1 Trillion. I am not sure about you but I want out of the $1 Trillion club.

CandyR

References:

– http://www.smarterbucks.com

– https://www.smarterbank.com

– Harness the Power of Everyday Spending to Pay Down Your Student Loans: http://clubthrifty.com/harness-the-power-of-everyday-spending-to-pay-down-your-student-loans/

– Too Big to Fail: Student debt hits a trillion: http://www.consumerfinance.gov/blog/too-big-to-fail-student-debt-hits-a-trillion/

, , , ,

Leave a comment